A graphic detailing the different aspects of the Turing's EDI framework

Remuneration, EDI and People Committee (REPCo)

The REPCo will hold the Institute to account on its performance on EDI and ensure it remains a high priority for senior leadership. You can see more details regarding our Board of Trustees on our governance page.

EDI Advisory Group

The EDI Advisory Group will be responsible for shaping and coordinating the EDI strategy and ensuring the tasks set out in the accompanying action plan are completed in good time. Co-chaired by the COO and a senior research colleague, it meets every two months and is attended by staff from across the Institute, with representatives from different departments and roles. The chairs of the staff network groups attend to feed back on policy and proposals and to facilitate feedback from the network groups.

“The Institute has the opportunity, responsibility and privilege to lead research that prioritises diversity and inclusion throughout the AI lifecycle – design, development, deployment and monitoring”

Anjali Mazumder, AI and Justice and Human Rights Theme Lead and co-chair (Research) of the EDI Advisory Group

EDI Advisory Group Membership 2021-2022

Julie Alland, Head of Culture and Engagement

Jon Atkins, Chief Operating Officer and Co-Chair of the EDI Advisory Group

Donna Brown, Director of Academic Engagement

Allaine Cerwonka, Director of Academic Research Programmes

Toni Freeman, Professional Development Coordinator and Gender Equality Network Group Chair

Amy Gallimore, EDI Strategic Lead

Catherine Lawrence, Director of Programme Management

Anjali Mazumder, AI and Justice and Human Rights Theme Lead and Co-Chair (Research) of the EDI Advisory Group

Ania Oberc Lambert, Finance Business Partner 

Amerik Phull, HR Advisor

Cecilia Poli, University Liaison Manager

Anujan Poologaindran, Doctoral Student

Clare Randall, Director of People

Camila Rangel Smith, Senior Research Data Scientist

Khanisa Riaz, EDI Officer

Tim Rodgers, Data Protection Manager


Jon Rowe, AI for Science and Government Programme Chair, Programme Director for Data Science for Science and Turing Fellow

Samantha Selvarajah, Academic Services Manager

Jemma Smith, Business Change Manager and Disability and Wellbeing Network Group Chair

Nigel Smith, HR Operations Manager

Joanna Stacey, Head of Events and Engagement

Kathryn Stillman, Interim Director of Communications and Engagement

Iain Styles, Turing University Lead (University of Birmingham)

Patrick Sutton, Internal Communications Manager

Kimberly Ton Mai, Enrichment Student

Ashley Van Der Casteele, Strategic Support Officer and LGBTQ+ Equality Network Group Chair

Adrian Weller, Programme Director for AI

Anneca York, Events Coordinator and Race Equality Network Group Chair

Erin Young, Research Fellow 



EDI network groups

The role of the network groups is to act as ‘critical friends’ to the Institute and to provide staff with the opportunity to contribute to the developing EDI agenda.

Chaired and attended by volunteers, the network groups will be responsible for providing support within their areas to the EDI team, creating a safe space for the community to discuss relevant topics, raising awareness by organising events, promoting social networks and advancing initiatives and best practice.

Disability and Wellbeing Network Group

The Disability and Wellbeing Network Group aims to promote an inclusive environment both physically and virtually for the Turing community. We provide a forum for discussion of issues facing disabled staff, students and researchers, operating in accordance with the 'social model' of disability, which recognises that it is systemic barriers, negative attitudes and exclusion that prevents people with diverse abilities from fully participating and realising their aspirations. We also focus on the promotion of wellbeing for all members of the Turing community.

Jemma Smith, Business Change Manager and Network Group Chair

Glenn Abastillas, Senior Data Scientist

Julie Alland, Head of Culture and Engagement

Jon Atkins, COO

James Lloyd, Science Writer

Harriet McCann, Academic Programmes Manager

Michelle McCartney, Resourcing Advisor

Amerik Phull, HR Advisor

Griffith Rees, Postgraduate Research Associate

Sharmila Ryall, Operations Manager

Samantha Selvarajah, Academic Services and Wellbeing Manager

Otis Smith, Facilities Assistant

Jason Venturi, HR Administrator

Gender Equality Network Group

The Turing Gender Equality Network (GEN) was launched in September 2021 to provide a forum for the discussion of barriers in respect of gender for staff, students and researchers.

The GEN strives to be a safe and comfortable space and recognises that individuals may wish to define themselves in the binary female/male sense or as non-binary or gender fluid and will be welcoming to all.

The GEN will work with the Institute and its EDI Advisory Group to identify and address barriers to gender equality and will promote the inclusion of women and non-binary staff, students and researchers in respect of recruitment, pay, development and promotion.


Toni Freeman, Professional Development Coordinator and Network Group Chair

Mafalda Cunha, Monitoring and Evaluation Officer - AI for Science and Government

Jennifer Ding, Research Application Manager - Tools, Practices and Systems Programme

Ayesha Dunk, Training Officer

Kai Ling Gan, Commercial/IP Lawyer

Vicky Hellon, Community Manager - Health and Medical Sciences Programme

Valery Otieno, Research Assistant - Public Policy Programme

Harley Pearce, Resourcing Officer

Achintya Rao, Community Manager - Tools, Practices and Systems

Malvika Sharan, Senior Researcher - Tools, Practices and Systems

Helena Showell, Programme Manager

Hannah Sweeney, Programme Manager - AI for Science and Government

Erin Young, Research Fellow for Women in Data Science

LGBTQ+ Equality Network Group

The aim of the LGBTQ+ Equality Network Group is to identify and address barriers to the recruitment, development and promotion of the  LGBTQ+ community in the Institute, and provide social and networking opportunities for our LGBTQ+ community. 

Ashley Van de Casteele, Strategic Support Officer and Network Group Chair

Glenn Abastillas, Senior Data Scientist

Will Connolly, Partnership Development Lead

Federico Nanni, Senior Research Data Scientist

Sophie Peacock, Personal Assistant

Otis Smith, Facilities Assistant

Cami Rincon, Research Assistant

Race Equality Network Group

A network group for all, where people of all races can discuss themes around race. We embrace our differences and aspire towards equality for all. Our activity comprises sharing opportunities, offering support, discussing concerns, and addressing racial discrimination and disadvantages in a safe and welcoming space. Aside from our regular meetings, we organise events and group meetings for specific issues, and raise awareness alongside national campaigns (such as inclusivity week and Black History Month).

Anneca York, Events and Engagement Officer and Network Group Chair

Ruth Ahnert, Turing Fellow

Vanessa Bayliss, Personal Assistant

Catherine Cunningham, Senior Finance Business Partner

Jacquelyn El Nemer, Executive Assistant

Kemi Fadeyi, HR Operations and Payroll Officer

Samantha Gardiner, Assistant Financial Accountant

Monique Harry, Reception and Office Support

Harriet McCann, Academic Programmes Manager

Daisy Parry, DSG Administrator

André Piza, Research Project Manager

Amber Raza, Research Project Manager

Khanisa Riaz, Research Project Manager

Otis Smith, Facilities Assistant

Charlie Thomas, International Officer

Alaric Williams, Research Project Manager