The Alan Turing Institute was founded in March 2015 as a Registered Charity (1162533) and Company Limited by Guarantee (09512457).

Annual reports

Annual report 2021/22

Annual report 2020/21

Annual report 2019/20

Annual report 2018/19

Annual report 2017/18

Annual report 2016/17

Annual report 2015/16


How the Institute is governed

The charitable object of the Institute is the furtherance of education for the public benefit particularly through research, knowledge exchange and public engagement in the fields of data sciences. In 2017, as a result of a government recommendation, we added artificial intelligence to our remit.

The Institute is governed by its Board of Trustees who are also its Directors. The Board of Trustees is made up of independent members and nominated Trustees from each of our joint venture partners.

Board of Trustees

The Institute is governed by its Board of Trustees who are also its directors. The Board of Trustees is made up of independent members and nominated trustees from each of our joint venture partners. Douglas Gurr has been appointed as the new Chair of the Board of Trustees.

View all

Senior leadership

The Institute Director and Chief Executive is Professor Sir Adrian Smith. Research at the Institute is delivered and supported by the Chief Scientist, CCO, COO, and Programme Directors.

View all

Research and Innovation Advisory Committee

The Institute’s Research and Innovation Advisory Committee brings together the Institute Director, the Turing University Leads and the Institute’s Programme Directors to advise the Institute on its research and academic agenda. It is chaired by Professor Katharine Robson Brown.

The committee consists of the following four working groups:

Research & Innovation Advisory Committe above Research Strategy Working Group, International Working Group, Training Working Group, Public Engagement Working Group

View all

Allaine Cerwonka

Director of International and Associate Director, AI for Science & Government Programme (ASG)

Strategic partners

A team of Programme Directors oversee research programmes undertaken at the Institute with our strategic partners.

Representatives from the strategic partners are regularly convened in a Strategic Partners Board. The role of this Board is to advise the Board of Trustees on the content and translation of the research generated by the Turing, and work with the Institute and across the strategic partners to identify new opportunities for collaborative research and translation opportunities.

Honorary Fellows

The Alan Turing Institute has an honorary fellowship scheme designed to recognise individuals who have substantially supported the Institute and its goals.

Anyone involved in the Turing community can nominate an Honorary Fellow. The Board of Trustees will review nominations, and expects to appoint a small number of Honorary Fellows each year.

Read our criteria for honorary fellowships and download the form to nominate an Honorary Fellow.

Dr Cynthia Dwork

Honorary Fellow and Gordon McKay Professor of Computer Science, John Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences at Harvard University