Honorary Fellows

The Alan Turing Institute has an honorary fellowship scheme designed to recognise individuals who have substantially supported the Institute and its goals. Anyone involved in the Turing community can nominate an Honorary Fellow. The Board of Trustees will review nominations, and expects to appoint a small number of Honorary Fellows each year. Read our criteria for honorary fellowships and download the form to nominate an Honorary Fellow.

Honorary Fellows

Professor Andrew Blake

Professor Andrew Blake was formerly Research Director at The Alan Turing Institute before stepping down from his role in March 2018 to focus on his research interests in the AI community, in particular autonomous vehicles. Prior to joining the Institute in 2015, Professor Blake held the position of Microsoft Distinguished Scientist and Laboratory Director of Microsoft Research Cambridge, England. He joined Microsoft in 1999 as a Senior Researcher to found the Computer Vision group. In 2008 he became a Deputy Managing Director at the lab, before assuming the directorship in 2010. Before joining Microsoft Andrew trained in mathematics and electrical engineering in Cambridge England, and studied for a doctorate in artificial intelligence in Edinburgh. He was an academic for 18 years, latterly on the faculty at Oxford University, where he was a pioneer in the development of the theory and algorithms that can make it possible for computers to behave as seeing machines.

In 2006 the Royal Academy of Engineering awarded him its Silver Medal and in 2007 the Institution of Engineering and Technology presented him with the Mountbatten Medal (previously awarded to computer pioneers Maurice Wilkes and Tim Berners-Lee, amongst others.) He was elected Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 1998, Fellow of the IEEE in 2008, and Fellow of the Royal Society in 2005. In 2010, Andrew was elected to the council of the Royal Society. In 2011, he and colleagues at Microsoft Research received the Royal Academy of Engineering MacRobert Award for their machine learning contribution to Microsoft Kinect human motion-capture. In 2012 Andrew was elected to the board of the EPSRC and also received an honorary degree of Doctor of Science from the University of Edinburgh. In 2013 Andrew was awarded an honorary degree of Doctor of Engineering from the University of Sheffield. In 2014, Andrew gave the prestigious Gibbs lecture at the Joint Mathematics Meetings (transcript available here). Professor Andrew Blake has been named as the recipient of the 2016 BCS Lovelace Medal, the top award in computing in the UK, awarded by BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT. The award is presented annually to individuals who, in the opinion of BCS, have made a significant contribution to the advancement of Information Systems.

Professor Blake recorded a Short Talk discussing his research, you can view the full video here.

You can visit his Cantab web page here: http://www.cantab.net/users/ablake/

Professor Patrick Wolfe

Patrick Wolfe served as the Institute’s Deputy Director during its start-up phase. During this period he led strategic partnerships and external relations with industry, government and the third sector; raised external funding for the Institute; and contributed to the development of the Institute’s strategy.

He currently leads the College of Science at Purdue University and was recently named the 2018 Distinguished Lecturer in Data Science by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. As a Royal Society Research Fellow and EPSRC Established Career Fellow in the Mathematical Sciences, he served as Executive Director of UCL’s Big Data Institute and its Centre for Data Science. A past recipient of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers from the White House, he has provided expert advice on applications of data science to policy, societal and commercial challenges including to the UK and US governments and to a range of public and private bodies. He serves on the editorial boards of the Proceedings of the Royal Society A (Mathematical, Physical & Engineering Sciences) and the Journal of the Royal Statistical Society B (Statistical Methodology), and most recently was an organiser and Simons Foundation Fellow at the Isaac Newton Institute’s six-month scientific programme on Theoretical Foundations for Statistical Network Analysis.